Driving Change in Higher Education.

Mark M. Welter World Citizen Award 2016-17 Winners

Fall 2016 Winners

  • Simon Washee, Alexandria Technical and Community College
  • Rochelle Peace, Anoka-Ramsey Community College
  • Lucino Sosa, Century College
  • Israel Gray, Dakota County Technical College
  • Spring Aubol, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
  • Beth Al-Qudah, Lake Superior College
  • Timmons Alphonso, Mesabi Range College
  • Mayla Yang, Metropolitan State University
  • Katie Minshall, Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Aldo Kusnardi, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Jocelyn Hernandez, North Hennepin Community College
  • Skyah Westerman, Northland Community and Technical College
  • Precious Kolleh, Pine Technical and Community College
  • Nunki Reyes, Ridgewater College
  • Adama Youhn, Riverland Community College
  • Martins Ayelomi, St. Cloud State University
  • Jerson Castro-Campos, South Central College
  • Dallin Finley, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Austin VanScoy, Vermilion Community College
  • Elijah Norris-Holliday, Winona State University


SPring 2017 WINNERS

  • Cassandra Bauer, Anoka-Ramsey Community College

  • Brooke Moren, Central Lakes College

  • Breezy (Sabrina) Cephus, Century College

  • Rakhi Penugonda, Dakota Technical College

  • Ashlyn Anderson, Hennepin Technical College

  • Jake Ray, Hibbing Community College

  • Alexander Anderson, Lake Superior College

  • Cole Jensen, Mesabi Range Community and Technical College

  • James E. Morse, Metropolitan State University

  • Babra Mumia, Minneapolis Community and Technical College

  • Evariste Busanga, Minnesota State Community and Technical College

  • Gulmira Fazilova, Minnesota State University, Mankato

  • Tanner Jo Gunnink, Minnesota West Community and Technical College

  • Alyssa Hinderscheid, Normandale Community College

  • Deborah Nesheim, North Hennepin Community College

  • Sarah Solomon, Northland Community & Technical College

  • Hannah L. Mollhoff, Pine Technical College

  • Okeyemi Onireti, Riverland Community College

  • Raxson Rax, Southwest Minnesota State University

  • Nicholas Holtz, Vermilion Community College

About Dr. Welter


Photo of Dr. Mark M. Welter with Justin Klander and Mike Dean


Dr. Mark M. Welter taught history in the Robbinsdale Area School District for nearly 30 years and also was an adjunct history professor at St. Cloud State University. In the past, Dr. Welter has shown his love and commitment to increase the awareness of global historians’ belief that today’s problems and potential are borderless realities that cannot be met with an ‘us vs. them’ approach by sponsoring global history seminar at St. Cloud State University. 

Past Award Winners



View the 2016-17 Award Winners



View the 2015-16 Award Winners



View the 2014-15 Award Winners



Spring/Summer/Fall 2016

View the 2016 Award Winners 


Spring 2017

View the Spring 2017 Award Winners 


Power of one vote

Fall 2016

View the 2016 Award Winners